Odd One Out

Odd One Out

by Nic Stone

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Overview

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Charity-Sanchez (Coop and Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven years old. She's his partner in crime and other half. But lately, Coop can't ignore the fact that he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter.

When Rae Chin moves to town, she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with "pariah," but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him . . . and her.

Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Coop starts daing Rae, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.

One story. Three sides. No easy answers.

"Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed." —Teen Vogue

"Declaring yourself—how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with—is treated with real tenderness." —The New York Times

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101939567
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 09/17/2019
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 89,034
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Atlanta native Nic Stone is the author of the New York Times bestselling Dear Martin, which Booklist called "vivid and powerful." Odd One Out is Nic's second novel and the book she wishes she'd had back when she was trying to figure out who it's okay to love.

You can find Nic fangirling over her husband and sons on Twitter and Instagram at @getnicced or on her website, nicstone.info.

Read an Excerpt

I, Courtney Aloysius Cooper IV, Should Be a Very Sad Dude

I should be devastated or pissed or deflated as I let myself into the house next door and climb the stairs to my best friend’s bedroom. I should be crushed that less than a month into my junior year of high school, my latest girlfriend kicked me to the curb like a pair of too-­small shoes.

It’s ridiculous that I have to stop outside the door to get my act together so Best Friend won’t get suspicious, isn’t it? Rubbing my eyes so the whites look a little red, slumping my shoulders, hanging my head, and poking my bottom lip out just the slightest bit so I look sad . . .

Best Friend doesn’t even look up from her phone when I open the door. Normally I’d be offended since I did all this work pretending sadness, but right now it’s a good thing she keeps her eyes fixed to the little screen. She’s sitting at her desk, laptop open, in one of those thin-­strapped tank tops—­nothing underneath, mind you, and she’s got a good bit more going on up there than most girls our age. She’s also wearing really small shorts, and she’s not small down bottom, either. In the words of her papi: “All chichis and culo, that girl . . .”

And I can’t not notice. Been trying to ignore her *assets* since they started blooming, if you will, in seventh grade. Largely because I know she would kick me to the curb if she knew I thought of her . . . that way. But anyway, when I see her sitting there with her light brown skin on display like sun-­kissed sand and her hair plopped on top of her head in a messy-­bun thing, my devastated-­dumped-­dude act drops like a bad habit.

I close my eyes. The image has already seared itself into my memory, but I need to pull myself back together. With my eyes still closed, I cross the room I know better than my own and drop down into the old La-­Z-­Boy that belonged to my dad.

Despite the squeak of the springs in this chair, she doesn’t say a word.

I crack one eye: no earbuds. There’s no way she doesn’t realize I’m in here. . . . She smiles at something on her phone, tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­taps around, and after literally two seconds, there’s the ping of an incoming text. She L’s-­O-­L.

I sigh. Loudly. Like, overly loudly.

Tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­tap. “You’re back early,” she says without looking up.

“You should put some clothes on, Jupe.”

“Pffft. Last I checked, you’re in my domain, peon.”

Typical. “I need to talk to you,” I say.

“So talk.”

Ping! She reads. Chuckles.

Who the hell is she even talking to?

I take a deep breath. Wrangle a leash onto the green-­eyed monster bastard raging within. “I can’t.”

She glares over her shoulder at me. “Don’t be difficult.” God.

Even the stank-­face is a sight to behold. “You’re the one being difficult,” I say.

“Oh, well, excuse me for feeling any opposition to you waltzing into my room without knocking and suggesting that I adapt to your uninvited presence.” She sets her phone down—­thank God—­faces her computer, and mutters, “Friggin’ patriarchy, I swear.”

I smile and glance around the room: the unmade bed and piles of clothes—­dirty stuff on the floor near the closet, clean in a basket at the foot of the bed; the old TV and VHS player she keeps for my sake since she never uses them when I’m not here, or so she says; the photo on the dresser of me, her, my mom, and her dads on vacation in Jamaica six years ago; the small tower of community service and public speaking certificates and plaques stacked in the corner that she “just hasn’t gotten around” to hanging on the white walls.

I’ll never forget my first time being in here ten years ago: she was six, and I was seven, and a week after Mama and I moved in next door, Jupe dragged me into this “domain” of hers because she wanted “to know more about my sadness.” She knew we’d moved because my dad died—­I told her that the day we met. But this was the day I hit her with the details: he was killed in a car crash and he’d been out of town and I hadn’t gotten to say goodbye.

Still hate talking about this.

I cried and cried on her bed, and Jupe wrapped her skinny arms around me and told me everything would be okay. She said she knew all about death because her bunny Migsy “got uterined cancers and the vet couldn’t save her.” And she told me that after a while it wouldn’t “hurt so bad,” but “I’ll be your friend when it hurts the most, Courtney.”

And there she is: Jupiter Charity-­Sanchez at her computer, with her grass-­green fingernails, three studs in each ear, and a hoop through her right nostril, likely organizing some community event to bring “sustenance and smiles” to the local homeless or a boycott of some major retailer in protest of sweatshop conditions in Sri Lanka.

Jupe—­my very, very best friend in the universe. Force, firebrand, future leader of America, I’m sure.

This is home. She is home.

“Did you pull together a donation for the Carl’s Closet clothing drive like I asked you to, loser?” she says.

See?

“I forgot,” I reply.

She shakes her head. “So unreliab—­”

Ping!

She snorts when she reads this time.

“Who are you texting?” I ask as she taps out her response.

“If you must know, her name is Rae.”

“Rae?”

“Rae. She’s new. Just moved here.”

“Why don’t I know her?”

“She’s technically a sophomore.”

“So why do you know her?”

“What’s with the third degree, Coop?” She turns back to her computer.

I grab a pair of balled socks from the clean-­clothes basket and lob it at her head.

Bingo.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Odd One Out 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I+love+the+conflicts+and+resolutions++between+the+love+rivals+and+whenever+I+read+it+I+feel+like+I+am+in+the+book+and+experiencing+this+myself
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Courtney Aloysius Cooper IV (Coop) is a straight black teen has been is in love with his best friend Jupiter Charity Sanchez since they were young. Jupiter is a bi-racial black girl only has eyes for the new girl Rae Chin. Rae is a bi-racial mixed girl wants to be with both Coop & Jupiter. I really enjoyed reading this story of falling in love with friends and the complications that can occur with friendship.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was such a great book to read. I loved all of the characters, but I just wish it had ended slightly differently.
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
I had an ARC of this, but after finding out that Nic Stone was going to narrate..... I HAD to listen to it. I always find it so cool when the author can write a book and then go on and narrate it too. They know the best places to emphasize and more and it makes the audio that much more enjoyable. Coop and Jupiter have been friends for years. Enter Rae who befriends the both of them. But also thinks she likes both of them. Coop is secretly in love with Jupiter, and Jupiter thinks she may be falling for Coop after getting turned down by Rae. If you're confused by this, there's no easy way to explain it. Just read it! I loved the way Stone gave each character their own book and still kept it in chronological order. It made the most sense this way. And giving all the characters their own book helped to get into their head and get some information that we may not have gotten from just one person's POV. I also liked the questioning rep! There is not too many books out there for those questioning, and this one really gave a great example. I could have used this book as a teen while I did my own questioning in high school. I didn't figure it out until I was in college and I never told anyone because I felt so alone. This book could've helped back then. I hope this book will help other teens that might feel like this now. However, I did not like the ending. It didn't feel finished. Like what happened after that. Did they try? It just felt cut off too abruptly. All the questions I had weren't answered and because of that it caused me to like it a little less. Stone's sophomore novel has none of the sophomore slump syndrome. It is messy and will stress you out in the best possible way. It will hurt you, hype you, and make you laugh. And all the time you will be rooting for the MC. All 3 of them. Knowing that all three of them have a different side of the story.
JillJemmett More than 1 year ago
This story was separated into three parts. Each part was narrated by a different character. This made the story very tense, while I was wondering what the other characters were thinking in the different narratives. The ending of each part was so emotional. There were major revelations each time from the different characters, which really built the tension until the next part. I loved Courtney and Jupiter. I was rooting from them right from the beginning, even though she was gay. They were so perfect with each other, so I wanted them to be together. However, things got complicated when Rae arrived. Jupiter liked Rae and Courtney liked Jupiter, while Rae liked both of them. It was a complicated set of relationships. I know many people don’t like reading about love triangles, but I don’t mind them. I’ve witnessed them in real life many times, so I can understand why they’re so prevalent in books. This love triangle was complex because of the different gender identities that were involved. I just loved this story! It’s an amazing, modern coming of age story. I received a copy of this book from Penguin Random House Canada in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read loved every word of it beginning till the end ..