A Secondhand Lie

A Secondhand Lie

by Pamela Crane

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Overview

Sometimes you know things you're not supposed to know. Things that you can never un-know. Things that will change the course of your life...and the fate of the ones you love.

I found her in our living room, bleeding and close to death, but alive. Barely. Until morning stole her last breath. The media called her killer the "Triangle Terror" ... and then forgot about her. But I never forgot--my murdered sister, and an investigation that led to my own resurrection from the dead.

Twenty-two years ago, on a cold February night, Landon Worthington lost his father for the last time. After an armed robbery gone wrong, evidence and witness testimony pointed a shaky finger at Dan Worthington--deadbeat dad and alcoholic husband. But before the dust could settle over the conviction, Landon's preteen sister, Alexis, is murdered in their home, plunging Landon's life into further despair.

Two decades and a cold case later, Landon is dogged by guilt over their estranged relationship and decides to confront his incarcerated father-of-the-year about what really happened the night of the robbery. But the years of lies are hard to unravel. And the biggest question of all haunts him: How does everything tie into his sister's murder?

And so begins Landon's journey to piece together the puzzle of secrets, lies, and truths that can free his father, avenge his sister, and perhaps save himself.

A short mystery perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni's Third Watch and Dean Koontz's The Neighbor.

**Read as a standalone or as the companion book to A Secondhand Life.**

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781987007817
Publisher: Barnes & Noble Press
Publication date: 01/02/2017
Series: The Killer Thriller Series , #2
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 422,888
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.23(d)

About the Author

Pamela Crane is a professional juggler. Not the type of juggler who can toss flaming torches in the air, but a juggler of four kids, a writing addiction, a horse rescuer, and a book editor by trade. She lives on the edge (ask her Arabian horse about that--he'll tell you all about their wild adventures while trying to train him!) and she writes on the edge. Her characters and plots are her escape from the real world of dirty diapers and cleaning horse stalls, and she thrives off of an entertaining tale.

She is the USA Today best-selling author of several award-winning psychological thrillers, including:

Mental Madness Suspense Series:
The Admirer's Secret
A Fatal Affair

The Killer Thriller Series:
A Secondhand Life
A Secondhand Lie

The Little Things That Kill Series:
The Scream of Silence
The Art of Fear
The Death of Life

Murder and Mayhem
Pretty Ugly Lies

Visit her chaotic world and grab a free book at pamelacrane.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Secondhand Lie 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story about a son working to clear his fathwe's name. Short and simple but interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully crafted prose and a mystery readers will enjoy. This book teeters on the precipice of "literary thriller" due to the powerful description and deep character insights, but it's got the flavorful standard thriller fare with a fast-paced mystery as Crane shares the tale of a son seeking answers about his father's imprisonment for a crime committed long ago and his sister's murder. I read it in one sitting, it was that unputdownable!
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Jessyca Garcia for Readers' Favorite A Secondhand Lie is the first book in Pamela Crane’s Killer Thriller Series. The story is a murder mystery mixed with family secrets. Twenty-two years ago, Landon Worthington finds his little sister’s body in their home. During that same time, his loser of a father is sent to prison for a robbery. It is not until now that Landon tries to revive his relationship with his father. He soon learns that nothing is as it seems. From the beginning, A Secondhand Lie is very intriguing. Landon definitely has a lot of secrets needing answers. This is the first book I have read by Pamela Crane. At times I did feel as if I was missing something that I should have known about the characters. Such as who exactly Mia Germaine is and how Landon knows her. However, the story itself was hard to put down. I was a little surprised that everything came together so smoothly for Landon. I was expecting a little bit more drama or denial on certain characters’ parts. I was rather disappointed that Landon’s sister’s killer was not revealed in this book. I think I have it figured out, but there is no way to know until the next book in the series comes out. Overall, I loved all the secrets in the story and I cannot wait to read the next book.