The Weekenders

The Weekenders

by Mary Kay Andrews

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Weekenders 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was no blue christmas! Maybe it was the serious mood of the book - hope the next one is better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book in 2 days. Loved the characters, the story line and especially the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to suffer through the entire book- The characters are unlikable, the plot drags, and it is stale and predictable-Very disappointed because i have enjoyed this author in the past
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read, didn't put it down
D-B1 More than 1 year ago
I loved and enjoyed reading the entertaining and engaging, story full of mystery, intrigue, and romance written by the awesome author, Mary Kay Andrews. I received an ARC from Goodreads Giveaway. Riley Griggs and her daughter, Maggy, are on their way to Belle Isle for the summer. Riley's husband is suppose to meet them at the island and Riley and her husband, Wendell, are going to break the news to their daughter, Maggy, that they are getting a divorce. Riley finds her beach house is foreclosed, Wendell is missing, his body is found in the water, everyone becomes a suspect, and Riley wants to find out the truth. Read the highly recommended, wonderfully written, must read novel by Mary Kay Andrews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All of the characters are a caricatures of typical southern stereotypes. None of them come across as likeable. A complete waste of time and money
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all of her books. Easy, enjoyable reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. True southern characters with a good storyline. A little bit of romance and a little bit of mystery. Just a good all around book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line is all wrong. The lady in the clerk's office should have researched the title change,. Deeds are required to be notarized. Thr notary would be void and she should that gotten a z real z estate lawyer who would have stopped the foreclosure. But, then I guess there wouldn't be a story .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't get me wrong, I love Mary Kay Andrews.. I've read every book she's written under that name and her given name. But this was by far my least favorite book. The main character, Riley, was an uninteresting woman with no backbone, who was guided through the whole book by her 12 yr old spoiled brat daughter and even at the end required her permission to go back to the man she loved. Come on Mary Kay Andrews you are better than this book!!
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
This is a great book by Mary Kay Andrews. Riley Griggs and her family spends their summers on the idyllic island of Belle Isle, North Carolina. Riley’s marriage has been on the rocks and she is planning on telling her moody twelve year old daughter that they are getting divorced. When her husband’s body washes up on the shore of Belle Isle with a blow to the head, it looks as if he has been murdered. Riley promises her daughter that she will try and find out what happened to her dad. The problem is the more Riley looks around the more secrets of Belle Island she uncovers. This book has a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night. This was such a great read and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
Mary Kay Andrews is getting back to her mystery roots in this book. When the main character's husband ends up dead, there are a lot of suspects, but Riley, his wife is suspect number 1. As usual, I totally enjoyed this book. Mary Kay never fails to let me down and I know when I pick up her books, I'm going to have an entertaining few hours ahead of me. Along with the mystery, there were certainly lots of chuckles and a secret romance that no one could ever have guessed. While I did miss Weezie and the gang, I enjoyed these new characters from the very beginning and was glad to go along their journey with them. Yep, I guess you could say I would recommend this book. Mary Kay was my very first book signing ever, I won't forget that or quit reading her books! Thanks St. Martins Press and Net Galley for the opportunity to read and review this free e-galley. I LOVED IT!
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
An absolutely wonderful read!! As expected from this author, the book is very well written with some of the most intriguing characters around. Her writing is so very descriptive you are able to picture yourself sitting on the porch with a glass of sweet tea. The story is filled with humor, mystery and intrigue. In this one we meet long time Belle Isle summer resident, Riley Griggs, her daughter and the rest of her family. This summer won't be like any other she's had on the island. Before she can even unpack, she is faced with the murder of her husband and financial upheaval including foreclosure on her family island home. Come along for the journey as Riley starts digging to find out exactly what happened and why. I definitely recommend you do!
Anonymous 3 months ago
excellent
Anonymous 10 months ago
good+read%21%0A
booklover6460 More than 1 year ago
The Weekenders was an okay read. Lots of stuff going on and you are left wondering who dunnit...all the way until the end of the book. But I have to say that the main character's daughter was irritating as snot! She was so over the top snooty and disrespectful. I know her mom was concerned because she had been diagnosed with Type I diabetes, but she was allowed too much freedom. I have to say that I love the books Mary Kay Andrews writes that have a little more humor thrown in. that was not the case with this book. This story was about the well-to-do and their obnoxious whining. It's a good thing I have read other books by Ms. Andrews or this might be my last one. I will give her another chance, but not too many more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never read this author before but really enjoyed this book. I didn't want to put it down. I enjoyed the suspense of not knowing what was going to happen next. Perfect read for a week at the lake.
nhr3bookcrazyNR More than 1 year ago
My first book by this author. I've heard good things about her books and was in the mood for someting "light" and breezy. But I really can't say I liked this book. I didn't find the main characters very likable, and I think the story could have used some major editing to cut it down. Guess it just wasn't the book for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice easy read and some very interesting turns and twists.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
I am not sure how to classify this book. I guess it is chick-lit, but it is also family drama as well as a murder mystery. Riley Griggs has her life turned upside down. In the past year her daughter was diagnosed with juvenile diabetes and she and her husband are getting a divorce. She has sold her house as she knows finances are tough, but she has no idea. When she and her daughter Maggy arrive at the Summer Home, it is locked up tight with a foreclosure notice on the door. That is just the tip of the iceburg. When her husband, Wendell, does not show up on Belle Isle as promised, she assumes her is ducking his responsibilities once again. When he does not answer Maggy's calls or texts, they grow a bit concerned. When Wendell's body is found in the marina and it is determined that he was murdered, the story gets interesting. Who killed him and why? What does Riley's family have to do with everything? Who else was involved in the bad investments? Was Wendell having an affair? We meet Riley's family, her mother Evelyn, her Aunt Roo, and her brother Billy. Billy is married to Scott and has always been a bit of an outsider. He is a musician and an alcoholic. The family is basically living off trust funds that were left by Riley's father and grandfather. When she finds out that she is broke, she is not sure what to do. Maggy is a bit much even with what she is going through. She says some terrible things to her mother that should not have been tolerated, I don't care if her father just died. Thankfully, she changes by the end of the story. Billy is a typical alcoholic some of the time. He knows it, but doesn't seem to have the willpower to end it. He is usually pretty good around his niece, but as the story progresses, he seems to not care anymore. Nate Milas, an old friend of Riley's seems to be a saint. He is patient and understanding and puts up with a lot of crap. I don't know how he does it, but seems to win the family over, even though he did not come from "old money". This was one of the most dysfunctional families I have read about in a long time. I was glad to see the bright spots in their relationships. Riley's friend Parrish was a hoot. She did not want to get involved in Riley's schemes, but usually was convinced. She stuck by her side like a loyal friend should and pulled her butt out of the fire a few times. Overall, I enjoyed this book. The beginning was a bit slow for me, but once I got into it, I flew through it, if only to find out who actually killed Wendell and why. If you enjoy family drama geared to women, this is a book for you.
LC112648LC More than 1 year ago
The Weekenders ... Kept my attention the whole way through. I always love Mary Kay Andrews' books. Would definitely recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FrancescaFB More than 1 year ago
THE WEEKENDERS was an entertaining read. Mary Kay Andrews is at the top of her game and delivers as a gifted storyteller, and pens some of the best beach books that are thoroughly engaging. THE WEEKENDERS has a one of the greatest locations, good character development and story lines. Sometimes the only love that matters the most is found in family and in true friendships. THE WEEKENDERS keeps you riveted throughout the story, wanting more and more to the very end.
Samplin More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this book. It was a lot of fun. Every single one of the characters reminded me of someone I know, including the evil ones. They were well defined. I couldn't put the book down and read into the night. Good story. Good fun and more than a bit of suspense. Best summertime page turner that I've read in a while.