Please Don't Go Before I Get Better

Please Don't Go Before I Get Better

by Madisen Kuhn

Paperback

$11.99 $14.99 Save 20% Current price is $11.99, Original price is $14.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Please Don't Go Before I Get Better 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Margarite Ranieri More than 1 year ago
Please Don't Go Before I Get Better is a work of ART! While reading through it, it made me feel so warm and understood. I felt such a deep connection with each page. Even if i could not directly relate to a poem, i still felt a sense of understanding. Madisen uses such beautiful detailed description - it paints such a dreamy nostalgic film in my mind. Often by the time i finished a poem or a journal like entry i had my jaw dropped. There were lines that i had to read over and over again because it just really struck a nerve with my emotions. I wish there was a version of this book that i could bathe in, eat, drink wear, sleep in etc... i just wanna be consumed by it!!!! kk im getting carried away It's one of those books that you hate to put down but never want to finish. If you're looking for a well written poetry book without obnoxious cliches, or overused topics, look no further my friend. (also check out her book 'eighteen years' ) Thank you Madisen for pouring your heart out, being vulnerable, and authentic. I appreciate all the hard work and the courage you had to make this book a reality. I'm ready for book number 3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This has been my favorite poetry release of the year thus far. I highly recommend for both poetry aficionados as well as novices. This is a delightful, deep book which you will find reading over and over.
kzan More than 1 year ago
Stunningly and hauntingly beautiful, Kuhn’s PLEASE DON’T GO BEFORE I GET BETTER speaks to the impulsive young heart in us all, revealing a raw and deeply rich perspective on love and early adulthood. Kuhn masterfully weaves prose poetry, devastatingly powerful one-liners, and minimalist illustrations that echo truths that’ll remain with you long after reading. Above all, though, PLEASE DON’T GO BEFORE I GET BETTER is a thinly veiled contemporary anthem about finding courage to explore the “light and darkness” in another person’s soul.
Louisa More than 1 year ago
This collection of poems is an indispensable read for every girl and young woman in her teens or twenties today, and every person desiring a revisit to the trials of their younger selves. Addictive, digestible, and remarkably raw, the poems chronicle coming-of-age emotions over time and space. Readers are whisked from Virginia to New York City, to Delaware, Philadelphia, and LA. The speaker of Kuhn's poem shows us the feelings behind both trivial and significant moments, from her first kiss to buying flowers in grocery stores, to washing feet, moving apartments, and crying in the shower. The poems touch the heart and brain and remind us of the ordinary days when we feel nothing at all to the days when we feel everything all at once. They move from 7/11s, to fields, to the open road, to bedrooms, and the mountains in an ode to the country and one individual in the masses. In free verse poems of varying tone and length, Kuhn takes us on a journey during which she learned to value her whole self, and invites her readers to do the same. Comparable to and arguably richer than Rupi Kaur's 'Milk and Honey,' these poems are an ode to the human processes of learning to accept messes, relationships, love, and experiences. They are written with the rawness of someone with the courage to be self-reflective, exposing the inner workings of a human mind moving from adolescence to adulthood. In an age of frustrating and overwhelming exposure to false perfection and dishonesty, Kuhn's writing gives readers a refreshing invitation to examine and cherish their flaws in the name of moving beyond moments of anxiety and doubt to take control of the pursuit of happiness. What reads as a journal expose, the poems suggest that literary art is what our world most needs today. If only I was armed with these poems when I was 16.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book changed my life entirely, both how I felt, and how I think. Thank you.
StellaH More than 1 year ago
Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better by Madisen Kuhn surprised me in the best way. I’ve read a lot of poetry and most of the time I appreciate it, but accept that I just don’t connect to it in the same way so many others seem to. This book was different for me. As someone who is right around the same age as Kuhn, I related so much to everything she was saying. I found myself thinking on multiple occasions during my reading, "Wow, this girl gets me." She addresses the feelings of inadequacy that plague even the most confident of people in a humble and determined way. She wants to be better, but when she is, she doesn’t know how to handle it. She has moments of pure happiness where she looks around and thinks that this is exactly where she needs to be. She falls in and out of love. She questions if the love she has is THE love that she has been looking for or if there is something more out there. She paints beautiful pictures with eloquent wording and where she fails to illustrate something concrete, a distinct feeling still comes across. I felt longing, inspiration, nostalgia, love, happiness, peace, sadness, anxiety, restlessness, and excitement for the future so sincerely depending on which poem I was reading, and some evoked more than one of those emotions. My main issue with the work would be the emphasis put on her boyfriend in order to be happy, but at the same time, it was honest and something that she was genuinely trying to change about herself. As a reader, I could see that she wanted to be able to be happy and confident on her own, but as for anyone, that takes work. I especially connected to “Irises,” “Anhedonia”, and “Your Twenties and Stability: A Paradox,” along with “Better Times” and “As Long As I Don’t Stop Living.” I think these particular pieces, some poetry and some prose, capture my inner conflicts, doubts, hopes, and ponderings in a way that only one other book has done before. Overall, I really enjoyed this collection and would absolutely recommend it to anyone struggling to navigate heartbreak, love, life in your twenties, and finding a place to call home.
Jorah More than 1 year ago
As a young woman in todays society I find many poetry books that are written with me in mind. But I’ve also found that they usually other missed the mark or are very broad to a point where it’s hard to truly relate. This is not the case with this book. She writes in a way that is both honest and stirring. Honestly I relate to this in a deep and infatuating way. She makes me feel a little less loan. Her experiences mirror my own and she describes moments that I’ve lived in which to live again and again. She is similar in heart but different in style to the authors such as Rupi Kapur and Amanda Lovelace. Highly recommend!
Genesis Rivot More than 1 year ago
Madisen Kuhn has always known how to express her vulnerability through printed text. The amount of comfort this book brought me is genuinely incomparable. I’ve been following her for about 4+ years and to see her grow through her art is beautiful. I can’t wait for more releases, and for more love to be brought to us from her words. I appreciate authors like MK, everyone deserves to indulge in her words.
Moriah Conant More than 1 year ago
i LOVED this book. i found many of Madisen's feelings to be relatable due to: -my own story with mental illness -broken relationships in my own life -her mix of emotions displayed in the various poems -the honesty with which she writes Highly recommend, you won't regret it! Now i need to read her other book... Thanks, NetGalley, for the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with Madisen's first collection of poetry, so when I heard she was releasing a second book, I was beyond thrilled! Her writing resonates so well with me and I felt such a special connection to her first book, Eighteen Years. It was almost like she took my thoughts and put them into words, which is what I love about her- she's so raw and relatable. Please Don't Go Before I Get Better absolutely met every expectation I had for it. While reading, it felt like such a personal experience because every piece she writes has a way to connect with her audience. Madisen is one of the people I look up to the most, and I am so happy that she is now a published author who is getting the recognition she deserves. If you get the chance, pick up a copy of Please Don't Go Before I Get Better. This collection is great for anyone going through a transitional phase in their life, as well as for anyone who just enjoys some good writing or wants an opportunity to reflect on themselves.
bianchibooks More than 1 year ago
I was really looking forward to reading this, and I was really excited when I got accepted on Netgalley to read this [even though it was only a day before the release date I saw I had gotten accepted, but that's beside the point]. Now, I wouldn't say I was let down, however, I was disappointed in this, nonetheless, and it did not meet the expectations I had set for it or that it had blatantly set for itself. I didn't get much Amanda Lovelace or Rupi Kaur out of this, as the synopsis says this was perfect for fans of. I got a lot more Instagram poet-esque. Not to mention, about 3/4 of the poems read more like journal entries than actual poems. This didn't really speak to me as I really was hoping it would and really wanted it to. [How many times can I use the word 'really' in a single sentence - A GAME!] There were a few that stood out to me, but there weren't any that spoke to me. Even though I enjoy poetry a lot, this really wasn't for me. There is definitely an audience for this, but I was, unfortunately, not apart of that audience. Honestly, I thought [and hoped] that I would be apart of the audience that rated this five-stars and added it to their 'favorites' shelf, but, nope. I thought the formatting of this was nice, and I liked the little illustrations on some of the pages that coordinate with a poem. They were simple, and, as much as I hate this word, very Tumblr aesthetic-y [ew] Kuhn being so young, I can tell that she has an immense amount of potential to be up there with poets like Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur, but, for right now, she is not up there with me. I would like to, at some point, get Kuhn's first poetry collection titled eighteen years as, from the poems I have read from it, seems a lot more up my alley than Please Don't Go Before I Get Better ended up being.