Chicka Chicka Boom Boom: Book & CD

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom: Book & CD

Paperback(Book and CD)

$10.42 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.42, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 315 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My 1 year old son does not like being read to as he is a hands on, active child. But when I started reading Chicka Chicka Boom Boom to him, he would sit in my lap as long as I read it. Soon he was getting the book, bringing it to me and climbing in my lap on his own. Any book that can get MY son that excited about reading is a winner. Plus, this is one of the only BABY books that I can have fun reading. And when you have to read a book 23 times in a row, YOU HAD BETTER LIKE IT!!!
Emily Lenard More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for toddlers, as well as adults alike. It's such a good and adorable book about the abcs climbling up a coconut tree until it collapses! The book is awesome, but the price...whoa! I still remember back in the day when my teacher read this book to me in kindergarten...such good memories! Overall, this is a wonderful book that is highly reccomend to young children all over the world. Enjoy!
Lv2ReadSC More than 1 year ago
Whats with the costs beimg so high for these kids books? This gem of a book is only $3 in print at tj maxx. Please tell me prices will come down for these. I got this new nook just for my kids to have their books on heretoo...but not at these prices!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In kindergarten I use to love this book and I still so if I were you I'd totally buy it!!!!!!!
Ruth Gonzales More than 1 year ago
It is very expensive for what you get. I thought I read in one of the reviews that it was an interactive book. That is why I purchased it. I have this book at work (preschool) on a cd and it is read as a song and so much better than this :( . For the price I am very disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter loves this book. They read Chicka Chicka Boom Boom at her preschool, and it is one of her favorites. So, I bought it for my Nook Tablet, and I have no complaints. The "read to me" feature is great. All ebooks should definitely have this option. We can hear the narrator (Ray Charles) just fine, and the colors are vibrant. I highly recommend this as an ebook. It would be a 5-star book if it were more interactive.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
You're not going to believe this alphabet book - it's bold, bright and beautiful! Brilliant colors fill each polka-dot bordered page as the alphabet begins its adventurous journey to the top of a coconut tree. The rhymes are irresistible and fun to be read again and again. This version is printed to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the original published in 1989, and gives a new generation of children the opportunity to learn as they play beginning with "A told B, and B told C, `I'll meet you at the top of the coconut tree.'" There's a festive commemorative poster on the inside of the dust jacket decorated with brilliant polka dot candles and a headline reading "A told B, and B told C, `Let's celebrate twenty years of climbing up the coconut tree!'" Enjoy! - Gail Cooke
Dawn Land More than 1 year ago
I love this book for my kids, but $12.99 is way overpriced! It's too bad, because my 4 year old loves to read books on my Nook Color and I won't pay that much.
BC106 More than 1 year ago
My son is 2 and has memorized this book - it's really helped him learn the alphabet (including "big" and "small" letters) in a fun way. This review isn't of the book but of the book+CD combo kit. My husband had run across a "song" version of the book online (some guy singing the book to acoustic guitar). Anyway, when I saw this book+CD kit @ B&N, I assumed Ray Charles would be singing the same song - but unfortunately, all Ray does is read the book - no singing by him on the enclosed CD whatsoever. There IS a song version on the CD, but it's sung by a bunch of kids (think how Sesame Street etc sounds)... For me, I was looking forward to Ray Charles singing it (assumed it would be one of those rare non-grating kid-CD's to own)...but not so. Of course there's no mention of this on the packaging, which is why I feel it was misleading and was disappointed. My son likes it. But if I weren't so lazy, I'd probably return it on principle alone. The spoken version (by Ray) and the kids' version isn't horrible... but it's not worth the money IMHO - you can enjoy the book by itself and if you really want to learn the "song," find it on youtube to sing it yourself. Just don't make the same mistake I did and assume you're getting Ray singing on the CD.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recommend this for kid ages 2 & up! My music class used to read this book , me and my classmates loved this book. I even recommend this for grown ups. Even if i am a pre teen i still read this book when i get the chance to read it to my little cousins
lauren_21 More than 1 year ago
I first read this book at the age of 17 and fell in love with this book immediately. I used this book as a flannel board project and the kids loved it. As you read this book, you develop a natural rhythm. It is great for young readers to help with their alphabet recognition. This book goes in alphabetical order and uses both uppercase and lowercase letters so the young readers are able to identify what letters go together. This book is an absolute must have for those learning the alphabet in a fun way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love reading this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book!!!!! So cute gteat for kids
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I paid so much for this book and every time I try to open it my nook turns off. So disapointed. Any suggestions?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much i even have in my own room :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish they would put it for free i would have got it for my lil sis
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember this book from when I was little.
Anne Cardenas More than 1 year ago
Nice story but sound quality on this book is poor. Not worth $12.99.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Nnmxbsgkbcgzsvmtdbdm,mxb
cmesa1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book has a great melody to it . It starts with "A told B and B told C I"ll meet you at the cocnut tree". The motif on this book is the coconut tree. How all the letters clim to be a the coconut tree. and Chicka chika boom boom. Then even the capital letters climb the tree. And the book finishes with the "A is Out of bed and this is what he said, "Dare daoble dare you can't catch me. I 'll beat you to the top of the coconut tree. Chicka chicka Boom, boom". When I read this book to my students they love to repeat and participate int he story saying chicka chicka boom boom.
ashleywoody on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary:This is a book about the letters of the alphabet going up the coconut tree, and then they fall down the coconut tree repeating the alphabet. It shows and teaches each letter of the alphabet in a fun rhythm.Personal Reaction:I think this book is great for preschoolers and kindergarteners who are learning the alphabet! It teaches kids the alphabet in a fun way that they can learn and repeat. It is also a great tool for that age of students because it helps them learn to read the alphabet by emphasizing the letters.Extension Ideas:1) Have the class make their own Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by having a palm tree in the corner of the classroom and have the students put the letters up the tree then make them fall off. 2) Have the students draw their own coconut tree with the letters of the alphabet on it.
Pusparani on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, I love hearing the sounds in my ears!I believe this is a great alphabet book for children. It is not only unique and entertaining, but most of the texts are rhythmic and lively. It tells a fascinating story behind the alphabet. Children will love to follow each alphabet letter that is trying to climb a coconut tree and surprisingly find all the alphabets are falling down. The words are shorts and repetitive so it is easy to remember while children are reading or when somebody is reading to them. The artwork does a good job in illustrating and introducing the alphabets to young readers. Lois Ehlert¿s collages are bright and strong colored which fit with the simplicity and the needs for young readers who are starting to learn alphabets. Ehlert illustrates the excited young letters using lowercase letters and uses uppercase letters to illustrate their parents and other adults.I would love to include this book in my home library collection and I will use it with my students and with my own child someday. I would recommend this book for infants to seven-year-olds. Older children can also use this book to help their younger peer learn the alphabet.
bdavenp1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The alliteration and bright colors of the book immediately catch your attention. The polka dot borders also add fun to the pages. The alphabet begins at the top of a coconut tree. Reading the book is a great way to help children learn the alphabet because of the fun rhymes it contains. The size of the letters in the book are very large, so children can easily see them so that they can learn to recognize the letters. I remember when I was child having it read to me, and I loved it.
medebrielle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Chicka Chicka Boom Boom Illustrated by Lois Ehlert is a book about the alphabet. It is a rhyming storing about all the letters of the alphabet who climb to the top of the coconut tree. They all get tangled in each other and fall down the tree. L gets tangled like a tie, and when T falls, he becomes loose tooth T. It is a really cute story that plays on the alphabet. I would read this story to a very young crowd. It is very catchy and I love the pictures. This website has a 5 day lesson plan configured, along with many activities you can do with students.
TerraO on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fun story to tach the alphabet. The letters of the alphabet, all with their own personality, take a trip up a coconut tree, with a chicka chicka boom boom. This book has a fun rhyming sequence that children love.